Cicuta maculata Linnaeus

Remark The words or terms in red (actually dark orange) in the text are defined in a glossary.


aug_01_02f.gthmb can't be loaded. Cicuta maculata is a tall biennial or a short-lived perennial with a branching, hollow stem, except for partitions at the junction of the root and stem, and with cross-partitions at the nodes and many of these at the base of the stem. The stem are often lined or mottled with purple or solid purple. The plant can reach 9 feet tall. The partly tuberous roots have 2 to 8 oblong tubers which are 1.5 to 3 inches long and about 1/2 inch thick, is sweet-smelling; the tubers are made of hollow, horizontal chambers containing a yellow liquid that is deadly poisonous. Cut stems also exude a yellow, oily liquid. The stems and foliage are somewhat less poisonous than the roots. New growth begins from tubers as well as from seeds. The plant is native to North America.

Botanist recognize 4 varieties in the species:

and only the bolanderi variety is not found in Québec. The victorinii variety is an endemic species of the intertidal estuary of the Saint-Lawrence river.

Cicuta maculata belongs to the Apiaceae family.

Name

In Latin, the word Cicuta is referred to by Plinius Secundus (Pliny the Elder), 23 AD - 70 AD (he died on August 25, AD 79 during the famed eruption of Mount Vesuvius that also destroyed the cities of Pompeii and Herculaneum), he was a naturalist and naval and military commander; he refers to the plant Anthriscum in his Naturalis Historia (Natural History) (25, 151) and has been identified as Conium maculatum (Poison Hemlock) the poison in the potion that killed Socrates. One paragraph of the book (XXV) describes the cicuta as follows :

draw_a.jpg can't be loaded.

Hemlock (Cicuta maculata), too, is a poisonous plant, rendered odious by the use made of it by the Athenian people, as an instrument of capital punishment: still, however, as it is employed for many useful purposes, it must not be omitted. It is the seed that is noxious, the stalk being eaten by many people, either green, or cooked in the saucepan. This stem is smooth, jointed like a reed, of a swarthy hue, often as much as two cubits in height, and branchy at the top. The leaves are like those of coriander, only softer, and possessed of a powerful odour. The seed is more substantial than that of anise, and the root is hollow and never used. The seed and leaves are possessed of refrigerating properties; indeed, it is owing to these properties that it is so fatal, the cold chills with which it is attended commencing at the extremities.

although I'm not sure that that the stalk might be eaten either green, or cooked in the saucepan, without impunity!

The word (Cicuta) is also referred to by Marcus Porcius Cato, Cato the Elder, (234 BC, Tusculum 149 BC) who was bred, after the manner of his Latin forefathers, to agriculture, to which he devoted himself when not engaged in military service. His book on running a farm, De Agri Cultura (On Farming), his only work that survives completely, is a miscellaneous collection of rules of husbandry and management including sidelights on the Roman country life in the 2nd century BC.

But the scientific name of Hemlock is Conium and is derived the Greek word χωνειον (khôneion) and is referred to, in Latin, as Conium, by Saint Ambrose (born between 337 and 340 AD., died on the 4th of April 397). He was a bishop of Milan who became one of the most influential ecclesiastical figures of the fourth century. He refers to the word in his Hexaemeron (commentaries on the Old Testament).

So there was some mix-up in choosing the proper genus name for Cicuta maculata and for Conium maculatum in reference to classical sources ! But since both are quite poisonous...

In Latin, macula means stain, blotch and maculatus is the past participle of the verb maculare that means to stain; the epithet refers then to to the purple mottling of the stems of Cicuta maculata.

Common names

Some of the vernacular names of Beaver Poison, Children's-bane, Common Water-hemlock, Cowbane, False Parsley, Muskratweed, Musquash root, Musquash-root, Poison Hemlock, Poison Parsnip, Snakeroot, Spotted Cowbane, Spotted Hemlock, Water Hemlock, and Spotted Water-hemlock. Its French names are Cicutaire maculée and Carotte à Moreau.

Synonyms

Cicuta maculata, in its four varieties, has also been known as:

Identification

draw_b.jpg can't be loaded.

The distinctive features of Cicuta maculata are:

Several species in the Apiaceae family are similar :

Description

Leaves

The veins on the leaflets end at the notches on the leaflets margins, between the teeth rather than in teeth tips which is unusual in plants.

The caterpillars of Papilio polyxenes asterias (the Black Swallowtail) feed on the foliage in spite of its toxicity. The foliage and roots are usually left undisturbed by mammalian herbivores, although cattle and other livestock sometimes eat this plant with fatal results.

Flowers

draw_c.jpg can't be loaded.

The exposed nectar of the flowers attracts primarily insects with short mouthparts, such as flies and wasps. Other flower-visitors include short-tongued bees, small butterflies, and beetles. Highly unusual wasps visit the flowers, wasps from the :

Fruits

Habitat

Cicuta maculata is found in wet to moderate moisture, in meadows, wet pastures, or in woods, in marshes, in swamps or on the edges of ponds and lakes or along stream banks, or in roadside ditches. Cicuta maculata prefers moister locations than the introduced Conium maculatum, the two species rarely competing with each other for the same ecological niche.

Distribution

map_na.jpg can't be loaded.

Cicuta maculata is found over most of the Canadian provinces and most of the USA states. It is also found the the Mexico states of Chihuahua, Coahuila, Nuevo Leon, Tamaulipas, Veracruz and Tabasco. The map shows the Canadian provinces and USA states where the plant can be found.

Notes

Cicuta maculata is considered the most violently toxic plant in North America. Humans and all classes of livestock are susceptible to poisoning and death after ingesting plant material. Most cases occur in the springtime, since the plant may be eaten in spring when other forage unavailable. Animals have been poisoned by drinking water contaminated with trampled plant material. Caution should be used when manipulating and removing plants.

The toxin is concentrated in the rootstock in the spring. Later during the growing season, the roots contain less toxin, and the leaves and stems contain sufficient chemical to cause lethal poisoning. The pithy area between the stem nodes contains a greenish-yellow oil which contains the toxins. The poisons are cicutoxin and cicutolare, neurotoxins that are very poisonous alkaloid and resinoid. Toxicity decreases through the growing season, and the toxicity of above-ground parts may be negligible when dry. The roots however are toxic at all times, even when dry.

The onset of symptoms in humans is often so sudden and traumatic that treatments are not always successful. The symptoms are similar in all cases of poisoning: salivation, muscular spasms, violent convulsions, coma, and death from asphyxiation. Death can occur within 15 minutes to 2 to 3 h after a lethal dose. If ingested, a piece of the tuber the size of a pea is enough to cause death.

Animals exhibit nervous symptoms because of the toxin, which is a convulsant. Trembling motions are followed by convulsions. In addition, frothing at the mouth, chewing movements of the mouth and vomiting may be seen. The eyes are widely dilated and the temperature is elevated. Death occurs from respiratory failure.

draw_d.jpg can't be loaded.

Cicuta maculata was used by native North American tribes for its toxicity, but also as medicine!

The Cherokees used it in ceremonial medicine; the roots were chewed, and if dizziness occurred the person would die soon, if not, it would live a long life! They also chewed the roots for four consecutive days as a contraceptive to become sterile forever which is what happens when your are dead! They also used an infusion of roots to soak corn before planting them in order to repel insect pests (a natural insecticide?).

The Crees used powdered dried roots for a liniment and applied it externally.

The Iroquois made a poultice of smashed roots to cure lameness, running sores or cuts. They also used the plant as disinfectant, to wash the floor prevent disease. They would use a decoction on bruises, sprains, sore joints or broken bones. They chewed the roots commit suicide.

The Klamath mixed the roots with rattlesnake poison or decomposed animal liver to poison arrows.

The Ojibwas used the roots in hunting medicine in order to attract dears near enough to shoot them with bow and arrow.

The Chippewas mixed the seeds with tobacco and smoked the results.

The Paiutes made a poultice of roasted roots, applied it for ordinary swellings, to rheumatic joints, and to deaden muscular pain; they would also apply a poultice of pulped root to rattlesnake bites.

The Shoshonis used a decoction of roots as a wash for sore eyes.

The Seminoles used a decoction of roots and stems as a bath for high fevers.

Gallery

The photos of the gallery were taken either with one of the following: Minolta DiMAGE 7, Canon PowerShot A530, Canon Xt Rebel, usually with the EF-S60mm f/2.8 Macro USM objective, Fujifilm A 610 and EPSON Perfection 1650 (scanner).

The title in the window shows the date when the picture was taken, i.e. jan_30_06... would mean that the photo was taken on the 30th of January, the 06 is for the 6th picture taken that day. The month, day and picture number might be followed by a letter which I use to identify the system used to take the picture.

Click on the thumbnails to get larger view. The original photos are usually in TIFF format, the photos shown are generally in JPEG format, often of dimensions one half (surface one quarter) for loading time reduction.

Plants

july_11_07.mthmb cannot be loaded. july_11_08.mthmb cannot be loaded. aug_01_02f.mthmb cannot be loaded.

Leaves

july_11_06.mthmb cannot be loaded. aug_27_01s.mthmb cannot be loaded. aug_27_02s.mthmb cannot be loaded.

The leaves of the two pictures on the right were scanned at 300 dpi, and the dimensions of the resulting picture divided by 2 (area divided by 4); this allows to measure the dimensions of the leaves.

Flowers

july_11_05.mthmb cannot be loaded. aug_01_06c.mthmb cannot be loaded. aug_01_08c.mthmb cannot be loaded. aug_01_07c.mthmb cannot be loaded.

Fruits, seeds

aug_27_01c.mthmb cannot be loaded. aug_27_04c.mthmb cannot be loaded. sep_23_02c.mthmb cannot be loaded.
sep_23_01c.mthmb cannot be loaded. sep_23_03c.mthmb cannot be loaded.

Home

Cicuta maculata Linnaeus

Remarque Les mots ou termes en rouge (en fait en orange foncé) sont définis dans un glossaire.


aug_01_02f.gthmb can't be loaded. La Cicuta maculata est une plante de grande taille, atteignant jusqu'à 9 pieds de hauteur; elle est bisannuelle ou pérenne de courte durée de vie; la tige porte des embranchements, tige qui est creuse sauf aux nœuds; la tige a fréquemment des lignes ou des taches de couleur pourpre. Les racines, partiellement tubéreuses portent de 2 à 8 tubercules oblongs, lesquels ont de 1.5 à 3 pouces de long et à peu près 1/2 pouce d'épaisseur, ces tubercules sentent assez bon, mais sont mortels si consommés ! Ils sont constitués de chambres creuses, contenant un liquide jaune, lequel est un poison mortel. Les tiges coupée exsudent le même liquide, jaune, huileux. Les tiges et les feuilles sont un peu moins toxiques que les racines. La plante se reproduit tant par ses tubercules que par ses graines. La Cicuta maculata est une plante indigène de l'Amérique du Nord.

Les botanistes divisent l'espèce en quatre variétés :

et seule la variété bolanderi ne se trouve pas au Québec. Quant à la variété victorinii, elle est endémique de la zone intertidale de l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent.

La Cicuta maculata appartient à la famille des Apiaceae.

Nom

En Latin, c'est d'abord Pline l'Ancien qui fait référence au mot Cicuta. Pline l'Ancien (en latin Caius Plinius Secundus) est un important écrivain et naturaliste romain, auteur d'une monumentale encyclopédie intitulée Histoire naturelle, en 37 volumes. Il naquit en 23 après J.-C. à Novum Comum (l'actuelle Côme) dans le nord de l'Italie et mourut en 79 à Stabies (Stabia en latin), près de Pompéi, lors de l'éruption du Vésuve. Dans son Histoire naturelle Pline a compilé le savoir de son époque sur des sujets aussi variés que les sciences naturelles, l'astronomie, l'anthropologie, la psychologie ou la métallurgie. Un paragraphe de son œuvre (XXV, 151) décrit ainsi la Cicuta :

Cicuta quoque venenum est, publica Atheniensium poena invisa, ad multa tamen usus non omittendi. semen habet noxium; caulis autem et viridis estur a plerisque et in patinis. levis hic et geniculatus ut calami, nigricans, altior saepe binis cubitis, in cacuminibus ramosus, folia coriandri teneriora, gravia odoratu, semen aneso crassius, radix concava, nullius usus. Semini et foliis refrigeratoria vis; sic et necat: incipiunt algere ab extremitatibus corporis.

draw_a.jpg can't be loaded.

ce qui se traduit par :

La ciguë aussi est un poison, odieuse par l'usage qu'on en faisait à Athènes pour le supplice des condamnés, mais ayant cependant divers emplois qu'il ne faut pas omettre. La graine est malfaisante, mais la tige se mange très fréquemment crue et cuite : elle est lisse, articulée comme les roseaux, noirâtre, haute souvent de deux coudées, et rameuse au sommet. Les feuilles sont celles de la coriandre, mais plus molles et d'une odeur plus forte. La graine est plus grosse que l'anis; la racine, creuse, n'est d'aucun usage. La graine et les feuilles ont des propriétés réfrigérantes. Ceux que la ciguë fait mourir commencent à se glacer par les extrémités du corps.

bien que je ne sois pas du tout certain que les tiges de Cicuta puissent se manger très fréquemment crue et cuite impunément !

Marcus Porcius Cato, Caton l'Ancien, (234 av. J.-C. - 149 av. J.-C.) dans son De Agricultura, où il énonce les règles à respecter pour la bonne marche d'un domaine agricole, fait également référence à la Cicuta.

Par contre le nom scientifique de la ciguë est Conium maculatum et vient du mot de Grec classique χωνειον (khôneion) ce qui en Latin a donné Conium, tel qu'y fait référence Saint Ambrose (340-397), évêque de Milan de 374 à 397, l'un des Pères de l'Église latine. Il fait référence au khôneion dans son Hexaemeron (des commentaires sur le Vieux Testament).

De sorte qu'il y eut une certaine confusion en choississant le bon non de genre pour la Cicuta maculata et le Conium maculatum en référence aux sources classiques; mais les botanistes ont également droit à l'erreur,... et comme il s'agit de deux plantes très toxiques...

En Latin, macula signifie tache maculatus est le participe passé du verbe maculare qui signifie tacher, souiller; l'épithète fait référence aux taches, marbrures brunes de la Cicuta maculata.

Noms communs

Deux des noms vernaculaires de la Cicuta maculata sont Cicutaire maculée et Carotte à Moreau. Ses noms vernaculaires anglais sont : Beaver Poison, Children's-bane, Common Water-hemlock, Cowbane, False Parsley, Muskratweed, Musquash root, Musquash-root, Poison Hemlock, Poison Parsnip, Snakeroot, Spotted Cowbane, Spotted Hemlock, Water Hemlock et Spotted Water-hemlock.

Synonymes

La Cicuta maculata a aussi été connue comme :

Identification

draw_b.jpg can't be loaded.

Les traits caractéristiques de la Cicuta maculata sont :

Plusieurs espèces de la famille des Apiaceae ressemblent quelque peu à la Cicuta maculata :

Description

Feuilles

Les veines des folioles se terminent aux encoches des marges, entre les dents, ce qui est très peu fréquent chez les plantes.

Les chenilles du Papilio polyxenes asterias se nourrissent des feuilles malgré leur toxicité. Généralement les mammifères herbivores ne se nourrissent pas des feuilles, quoique les mammifères domestiques en mangent parfois avec de funestes conséquences.

Fleurs

draw_c.jpg can't be loaded.

Le nectar des fleurs attire principalement des insectes aux parties bucales courtes, comme les mouches et les guêpes. Les autres visiteurs des fleurs sont les abeilles à bouche courte, les petits papillons et les scarabés. Des guêpes peu communes visitent ces fleurs, guêpes :

Fruits

Habitat

On trouve la Cicuta maculata dans les lieux humides ou modérément humides, dans les prairies, les prés humides, les bois, les marais et marécages, sur les rives des lacs, des mares et des cours d'eau, dans les fossés le long des routes. La Cicuta maculata préfère des lieux plus humides que le Conium maculatum (une plante introduite) les deux espèces étant rarement en compétition l'une avec l'autre dans la même niche écologique.

Répartition

map_na.jpg can't be loaded. On trouve la Cicuta maculata dans la plupart des provinces canadiennes et dans la plupart des États américains. On la trouve également dans les États mexicains de Chihuahua, de Coahuila, de Nuevo Leon, de Tamaulipas, de Veracruz and de Tabasco. La carte montre les provinces canadiennes et États américains où l'on trouve la plante.

Notes

La Cicuta maculata est la plante la plus toxique que l'on trouve en Amérique du Nord. Tant les êtres humains que le bétail risquent la mort en consommant la plante. La plupart des empoisonnement de bétail on lieu au printemps, car le fourrage est alors peu abondant. Des animaux ont même été empoisonnées en buvant de l'eau contaminée par des plantes froissées. Il est important de s'entourer de précautions lorsque l'on manipule ou arrache ces plantes.

Au printemps, les toxines sont concentrées dans les racines. Cette concentration diminue quand la saison avance, mais les tiges et les feuilles contiennent alors assez de poison pour causer la mort. La moelle entre les nœuds contient une huile de couleur jaune verdâtre qui contient les toxines. Les poisons sont la cicutoxine et la cicutolare, des neurotoxines, alcaloÏdes et résinoïdes très toxiques. La toxicité diminue au fur et à mesure que la saison avance et la toxicité des parties non souterraines peut devenir négligeable lorsqu'elles sont sèches. Les racines par contre sont toujours toxiques, même lorsque sèches.

Le début des symptômes d'empoisonnement chez les êtres humains est souvent si soudain et traumatique que les traitement ne réussissent pas toujours. Les symptômes ressemblent à ceux des autres cas d'empoisonnement : salivation, spasmes musculaires, convulsions violentes. coma, puis décès dû à l'asphyxie. La mort peut survenir entre 15 minutes et 2 à 3 heures après une dose fatale. Lorsqu'ingéré, un morceau de tige de la taille d'un petit pois peu suffire pour causer la mort.

Quant aux animaux, ils manifestent les symptômes nerveux causés par les poisons qui produisent tremblements et convulsions. Cela peut être accompagné d'une bouche écumante et de vomissements; les yeux sont très dilatés, la température est élevée, et la mort survient par défaillance respiratoire.

draw_d.jpg can't be loaded.

La Cicuta maculata a été utilisée par les indigènes d'Amérique du Nord pour sa toxicité, mais également comme médicament !

Les Cherokees s'en servaient dans certaines cérémonies; ils mâchaient les racines et, si le vertige survenait rapidement, la personne allait mourir, sinon, elle vivrait une très longue vie ! Ils mâchaient également les racines quatre jours de suite, afin de devenir stériles pour toujours, ce qui évidemment ce qui arrive pour toujours lorsque vous êtes mort. Ils se servaient d'autre part d'une infusion de racines pour faire tremper les grains de maïs avant de les planter afin de repousser les insectes nuisibles (un insecticide naturel  ?).

Les Crees réduisaient en poudre les racines séchées et s'en servaient comme pommade.

Les Iroquois faisaient un cataplasme de racines écrasées pour soigner les boîteux, les plaies, les coupures. Ils se servaient également de la plante comme désinfectant pour nettoyer le sol afin de prévenir les maladies. Ils se servaient d'une décoction pour soigner les ecchymoses, les entorses, les articulations douloureuses et les fractures. Ils mâchaient les racines pour se suicider (efficace mais douloureux !).

Les Klamaths mélangeaient racines et venin de serpent à sonnette ou foie d'animal décomposé pour empoisonner les pointes de flèche.

Les Ojibwas se servaient des racines dans leur préparation à la chasse afin d'attirer les cerfs assez près d'eux pour pouvoir les tuer avec leurs arcs.

Les Chippewas mélangeaient les graines avec du tabac et fumaient le mélange.

Les Paiutes fabriquaient un cataplasme de racines roties, et l'appliquaient aux enflures, aux rhumatismes des articulations, et pour calmer les douleurs musculaires; ils se servaient d'un cataplasme de racines écrasées contre les morsures de serpent à sonnette.

Les Shoshonis utilisaient une décoction de racines pour laver les yeux douloureux.

Les Séminoles se servaient d'une décoction de racines et de tiges comme bain pour combattre les fortes fièvres.

Galerie

Les photos de cette galerie ont été prises avec l'un des appareils suivants : Minolta DiMAGE 7 Canon PowerShot A530, Canon Xt Rebel, habituellement avec l'objectif EF-S60mm f/2.8 Macro USM, Fujifilm A 610 and EPSON Perfection 2200 (scanner).

Le titre dans la fenêtre est la date à laquelle la photo a été prise, i.e. jan_01_06... signifiera que la photo a été prise le premier janvier, et le 06 est pour la sixième photo prise ce jour. Le mois, jour et numéro peuvent être suffixés d'une lettre qui me sert à identifier le système avec lequel la photo a été prise.

Cliquer sur les vignettes pour obtenir une image agrandie. Les photos originales sont généralement en format TIFF, les photos affichées sont habituellement en format JPEG, généralement de dimensions réduites de moitié (surface réduite au quart) afin de réduire la durée du chargement.

Plantes

july_11_07.mthmb cannot be loaded. july_11_08.mthmb cannot be loaded. aug_01_02f.mthmb cannot be loaded.

Feuilles

july_11_06.mthmb cannot be loaded. aug_27_01s.mthmb cannot be loaded. aug_27_02s.mthmb cannot be loaded.

Les feuilles ont été scannées à 300 ppp et les dimensions de l'image résultante ont été divisées par 2 (surface divisée par 4), ce qui permet de mesurer les dimensions des feuilles.

Fleurs

july_11_05.mthmb cannot be loaded. aug_01_06c.mthmb cannot be loaded. aug_01_08c.mthmb cannot be loaded. aug_01_07c.mthmb cannot be loaded.

Fruits, graines

aug_27_01c.mthmb cannot be loaded. aug_27_04c.mthmb cannot be loaded. sep_23_02c.mthmb cannot be loaded.
sep_23_01c.mthmb cannot be loaded. sep_23_03c.mthmb cannot be loaded.

Accueil