Eutrochium maculatum (Linnaeus) Sida

Remark The words or terms in red (actually dark orange) in the text are defined in a glossary.


july_27_10.gthmb can't be loaded.

Eutrochium maculatum was previously mainly known as Eupatorium maculatum. In fact, on the 5th of September 2007, google returned 54 500 results for Eupatorium maculatum vs. only 152 for Eutrochium maculatum. The species is native to North America. It is a coarse, clumping, erect perennial with a whorled leaf arrangement bearing 3 to 6 lanceolate leaves at each node. It can reach 4 to 6 feet in height. It has the widest geographic distribution and greatest morphologic variability among species in the genus. The species consists of three varieties:

The first two varieties are found in the eastern half of the USA and Canada, both are found in Québec; the last one is mostly found west of the Mississippi River and, in Canada, from Ontario to British Columbia. Their chromosome number (2n) is 20.

The species belongs to the Asteraceae family.

Name

In Greek, ευ (eu) means well and τροχο (trokho) means wheel, the genus name alluding to the usually whorled leaves of the species, a bit as the rays of a wheel. The previous genus name, Eupatorium, referred to Mithridates Eupator, King of Pontus about 115 BC who is said to have discovered an antidote to a commonly used poison in one of the species.

In Latin, maculatus is the past participle of the verb maculare that means to speck, to fleck. The epithet refers to the plants having their stem purple-speckled (but sometimes uniformly purple).

Common names

Two of the vernacular names of Eutrochium maculatum are Joe Pye Weed and Mottled Joe Pye Weed.

The vernacular French names are Eupatoire maculée for the maculatum variety and Eupatoire feuillue for the foliosum variety, referring still to the old name of the genus.

Synonyms

Eutrochium maculatum has also been known as:

Identification

Eutrochium maculatum is easy to identify with its whorl of elongate leaves and its flower heads of many very small purple flowers. The two varieties found in Québec are differentiated by their first whorls of leaves subtending the flower heads; if it equals or surpasses the arrays of the flower heads, the variety is foliosum, else, if the first whorls of leaves subtending the flower heads is smaller than the arrays of the flower heads, the variety is maculatum. draw.jpg can't be loaded.

Description

Eutrochium maculatum has fibrous roots and spreading rhizomes that can produce dense stands.

Stems

Leaves

Flower heads

Fruits

Habitat

Eutrochium maculatum grows in full sun in damp areas, on ditchbanks, wild marshes, along the edges of bogs or occasionally on the bog, and in a variety of other wetland habitats. It thrives in moist calcareous soils.

Distribution

Eutrochium maculatum is found in eastern North America. The map on the left shows the distribution in North America of Eutrochium maculatum var. foliosum and the map on the right shows the distribution of Eutrochium maculatum var. maculatum.

map_na_foliosum.jpg can't be loaded. map_na_maculatum.jpg can't be loaded.

Notes

Eutrochium maculatum was used by the Algonquin of Québec for menstrual disorders and to facilitate the recovery of women after childbirth. The Cherokee used the roots to cure rheumatism and as a diuretic while the Chippewa used them as a wash for joint inflammations.

Gallery

The photos of the gallery were taken either with one of the following: The title in the window shows the date when the picture was taken, i.e. jan_30_06... would mean that the photo was taken on the 30th of January, the 06 is for the 6th picture taken that day.

The month, day and picture number might be followed by a letter:

Click on the thumbnails to get larger view. The original photos are usually in TIFF format, the photos shown are generally in JPEG format, usually of dimensions one half (surface one quarter) for loading time reduction.

Plants

sep_03_02f.mthmb cannot be loaded. sep_03_01f.mthmb cannot be loaded. sep_23_03.mthmb cannot be loaded.
aug_08_14.mthmb cannot be loaded. july_27_07.mthmb cannot be loaded.

Leaves

aug_15_02s.mthmb cannot be loaded. The leaves were scanned at 300 dpi, and the dimensions of the resulting picture divided by 2 (area divided by 4); this allows to measure the dimensions of the leaves.

Flower heads

aug_08_12.mthmb cannot be loaded. aug_15_08c.mthmb cannot be loaded. july_27_08.mthmb cannot be loaded.
july_27_10.mthmb cannot be loaded. aug_15_09c.mthmb cannot be loaded. aug_15_10c.mthmb cannot be loaded.

Seeds

sep_06_01c.mthmb cannot be loaded.

Home

Eutrochium maculatum (Linnaeus) Sida

Remarque Les mots ou termes en rouge (en fait, orange foncé) dans le texte sont définis dans un glossaire.


july_27_10.gthmb can't be loaded. L'Eutrochium maculatum était autrefois surtout connu comme l'Eupatorium maculatum. En fait, le 5 septembre 2007, google a retourné 54 500 résultats pour Eupatorium maculatum vs. seulement 152 pour Eutrochium maculatum. L'espèce est indigène de l'Amérique du Nord. C'est une plante pérenne, dressée, souvent en groupe, avec des verticilles de 3 à 6 feuilles lancéolées, mais généralement 4 ou 5 seulement. Elle a de 4 à 6 pieds de hauteur. C'est l'espèce qui a la plus grande répartition et la plus grande variabilité morphologique de toutes les espèces appartement au genre Eutrochium.

L'espèce comprend trois variétés :

Les deux premières variétés se retrouvent dans la moitié orientale des USA et du Canada; on trouve les deux au Québec; la troisième variété se retrouve surtout à l'ouest du Mississippi, et, au Canada, depuis l'Ontario jusqu'à la Colombie Britannique. Leur nombre de chromosomes (2n) est de 20.

L'espèce appartient à la famille des Asteraceae.

Nom

En Grec, ευ (eu) signifie bien et τροχο (trokho) signifie roue, le nom du genre faisant référence aux feuilles en verticille, un peut comme les rayons d'une roue. L'ancien nom du genre, Eupatorium, faisait référence à Mithridate VI Eupator (132- 63 av. J.-C.) dit le Grand, Roi du Pont (Asie mineure). Dès son plus jeune âge, il s'était aguerri contre toutes sortes de complots et, craignant le poison, dont lui-même faisait un usage courant, il s'en était préservé en buvant des antidotes et des remèdes qui lui permettaient d'y résister. De là est né le verbe « mithridatiser », qui signifie « accoutumer au poison ». On dit qu'il aurait découvert un antidote à un poison commun dans une des espèces d'Eupatorium.

En Latin, maculatus est le participe passé du verbe maculare qui signifie marquer, tacher. L'épithète ferait référence à ce que les tiges des plantes sont tachées de pourpre (mais sont parfois uniformément pourpre).

Noms communs

Les noms vernaculaires de l'Eutrochium maculatum sont Eupatoire maculée pour la variété maculatum et Eupatoire feuillue pour la variété foliosum, faisant référence à l'ancien nom du genre. Deux des noms vernaculaires anglais sont Joe Pye Weed et Mottled Joe Pye Weed.

Synonymes

L'Eutrochium maculatum a aussi été connu comme :

Identification

draw.jpg can't be loaded. L'Eutrochium maculatum est facile à identifier par ses verticilles de feuilles allongées et ses capitules de petites fleurs pourpres. Les deux variétés que l'on trouve au Québec se différencient avec le premier verticille de feuilles juste au dessous des capitules; s'il égale ou dépasse le groupe de capitules, il s'agit de la variété foliosum, autrement, si le premier verticille de feuilles est plus petit que le groupe de capitules au dessus de lui, il s'agit de la variété maculatum.

Description

L'Eutrochium maculatum a des racines fibreuses et des rhizomes étalés qui lui permettent de produire des groupements de plante assez denses.

Tiges

Feuilles

Capitules

Fruits

Habitat

L'Eutrochium maculatum pousse en plein soleil dans les endroits humides, dans les fossés, au bord des marécages, sur les bordures des tourbières voire dans les tourbières. Elle se développe très bien dans les sols calcaires et humides.

Répartition

On trouve l'Eutrochium maculatum dans la moitié est de l'Amérique du Nord. La carte de gauche montre la répartition nord-américaine d'Eutrochium maculatum var. foliosum et la carte de droite la répartition d'Eutrochium maculatum var. maculatum.

map_na_foliosum.jpg can't be loaded. map_na_maculatum.jpg can't be loaded.

Notes

Les Algonquin du Québec se servaient d'Eutrochium maculatum pour faciliter la récupération après un accouchement. Les Cherokee se servaient des racines pour soigner les rhumatismes et comme diurétique tandis que les Chippewa l'utilisaient pour soigner l'inflammation des jointures.

Galerie

Les photos de cette galerie ont été prises avec l'un des appareils suivants :

Le titre dans la fenêtre est la date à laquelle la photo a été prise, i.e. jan_01_06... signifiera que la photo a été prise le premier janvier, et le 06 est pour la sixième photo prise ce jour.

Le mois, jour et numéro peuvent être suffixés d'une lettre :

Cliquer sur les vignettes pour obtenir une image agrandie. Les photos originales sont généralement en format TIFF, les photos affichées sont habituellement en format JPEG, généralement de dimensions réduites de moitié (surface réduite au quart) afin de réduire la durée du chargement.

Plantes

sep_03_02f.mthmb cannot be loaded. sep_03_01f.mthmb cannot be loaded. sep_23_03.mthmb cannot be loaded.
aug_08_14.mthmb cannot be loaded. july_27_07.mthmb cannot be loaded.

Feuilles

aug_15_02s.mthmb cannot be loaded. Les feuilles ont été scannées à 300 ppp et les dimensions de l'image résultante ont été divisées par 2 (surface divisée par 4), ce qui permet de mesurer les dimensions des feuilles.

Capitules

aug_08_12.mthmb cannot be loaded. aug_15_08c.mthmb cannot be loaded. july_27_08.mthmb cannot be loaded.
july_27_10.mthmb cannot be loaded. aug_15_09c.mthmb cannot be loaded. aug_15_10c.mthmb cannot be loaded.

Graines

sep_06_01c.mthmb cannot be loaded.

Accueil