Toxicodendron radicans (L.) Kuntze

Remark The words or terms in red (actually dark orange) in the text are defined in a glossary.


may_26_10.gthmb can't be loaded. Toxicodendron radicans is a woody low shrub that is erect or trailing, or is a climbing vine. It is well known for its ability to produce urushiol, a skin irritant that causes an itching rash for most people, technically known as urushiol-induced contact dermatitis. The plant is native to North America. It is listed as a noxious weed in the U.S. states of Minnesota and Michigan and the Canadian province of Ontario where it readily forms colonies.

Toxicodendron radicans is a highly variable taxon and there is considerable disagreement over whether Toxicodendron radicans is one species with variations and varieties or subspecies, or many separate species. Many botanists recognize 7 subspecies in the Toxicodendron radicans species, namely:

Other botanists consider some of theses subspecies, like the radicans subspecies as mere varieties in the species. Other still, in Québec notably, consider a species like
  • Toxicodendron rydbergii as a variety of Toxicodendron radicans i.e. with the name Toxicodendron radicans var. rydbergii. This seems to point to the fact that the Toxicodendron genus is still not well-known enough biologically and one will have to wait for a while before botanists agree on the specificity of the taxon.

    The species belongs to the Anacardiaceae family.

    Name

    In classical Greek one of the meaning of τοξιcοσ (toxicos) is poison with which the tip of an arrow is soaked. In Latin this became toxicum with the same meaning and the more general meaning of poison and laudanum (an opium extract once used for various medical purposes and as a recreational drug), and this is the root of the word toxic and of its derivatives. In classical Greek δενδρον means tree, and all species of the Toxicodendron genus are shrubs or small trees that are quite toxic.

    draw_e.jpg can't be loaded.

    In Latin, the verb radicare means to root, and radicans is its present participle, the epithet refers then to the fact that Toxicodendron radicans roots easily.

    Common names

    The vernacular name of Toxicodendron radicans is Poison Ivy. The French vernacular names are Herbe à la puce, Herbe à puce, Sumac grimpant, Toxicodendron grimpant.

    Synonyms

    Toxicodendron radicans has also been known as:

    Identification

    It is quite important to be able to identify readily Toxicodendron radicans whether in its climbing or non climbing form; its field marks are : The leaflets may have smooth, scalloped or irregularly toothed margins but typically the lateral two leaflets have irregularly toothed outer leaf margins and smooth, untoothed inner leaf margins. The middle leaflet is generally larger than the two laterals.

    In contrast, le Parthenocissus quinquefolia (the Virginia Creeper), a non-poisonous vine often mistaken for poison ivy, has five leaflets radiating from one point of attachment. draw_b.jpg can't be loaded.

    Description

    Stems

    The stems are initially light reddish green but become woody, brown; they are smooth (though older stems of climbing plants develop a very hairy appearance). They may trail along (or just under) the ground, sending frequent branches both out and up. They may grow upright, in a shrub form, which can reach 7 feet in height under good conditions. Or they may grow as a vine, up to 5 inches in diameter, climbing trees and fences by means of dense, dark, fibrous, aerial roots (giving the vines that hairy look). They are toxic.

    Leaves

    The caterpillars of Amorbia humerosana (Tortricid Moth sp.), Marathyssa basalis (Light Marathyssa), and Paectes oculatrix (Eyed Paectes) feed on the foliage despite its toxicity.

    Flowers

    Bees are attracted by the nectar and pollen. An individual plant may in fact have perfect flowers, staminate flowers only, pistillate flowers only, or both staminate and pistillate flowers.

    Fruits

    The fruits persist on the plant through winter and are a favorite winter food of some birds despite their toxicity..

    Habitat

    Toxicodendron radicans is normally found in wooded areas, especially along edge areas. It also grows in exposed rocky areas and in open fields and disturbed areas. It also grows as a forest understory plant, although it is only somewhat shade tolerant. It is also common around lakes, swamps, and rivers. It is not particularly sensitive to soil moisture, and is not n indicator or uniquely associated with a particular community type, although it does not grow in desert or arid conditions. It grows in a wide variety of soil types, and soil pH from 6.0 (acidic) to 7.9 (moderately alkaline); It can grow in areas subject to seasonal flooding or brackish water.

    Distribution

    map_na.jpg can't be loaded.

    Toxicodendron radicans grows throughout much of the eastern half of North America, including several states west of the Mississippi river, including several Canadian provinces. The plant is extremely common in suburban and exurban areas of New England, the Mid-Atlantic and Southeastern United States. The plant is also found in the Russian Far East: Kurile Islands and Sakhalin, in China, Japan and Taiwan. The plant has been introduced in Europe (as a revenge for some insult ?) The map shows the Canadian provinces and U.S.A. states where the plant can be found.

    Notes

    Toxicodendron radicans is the most common of the urushiol producing plants in the North America. Contact with urushiol oil is the substance that causes an allergic rash in 85 to 90 % of the population. Even a tiny amount (1 nanogram, a billionth of a gram) of sticky, resin-like urushiol oil will case a skin reaction. 1/4 ounce of the potent oil would be enough to cause a rash on the entire population of the earth!

    Poison Ivy Facts:

    The only sure way to avoid poison ivy rash is avoiding contact with urushiol oil directly from the plant or indirectly from clothing, tools, or gear that comes into contact with the oil.

    Within fifteen minutes of exposure urushiol oil bonds with the skin and a rash is likely. A long rinsing wash with cold water is an effective way to remove the oil. Warm water opens the pores allowing more oil to bond with the skin and soap may spread the oil more effectively.

    draw_h.jpg can't be loaded.

    Animals generally are not susceptible to dermatitis induced by Toxicodendron radicans. It is an important winter food for Odocoileus virginianus (White-tailed deer). The foliage, branches, and fruit are eaten by the Ursus americanus (Black Bear), and Sylvilagus species (Cottontail rabbits). A wide variety of migrant and resident non game and upland game birds consume the fruits in fall and winter. Genera of the Picidae family (Woodpeckers and Flickers) are especially attracted to the fruit.

    In spite of its toxicity, Toxicodendron radicans was used by several American native tribes. The Houmas took a decoction of leaves as a tonic. The Algonquins of Québec are said to have rubbed the leaves on the skin affected by a reaction to Toxicodendron radicans (increasing the problem ?). The Cherokees used as decoction of the plant as an emetic. The Kiowas used the plant to heal running or non-healing sores; they rubbed the leaves over boils or skin eruptions (making them worse ?) The Navajos used the plant to poison arrows and chewed the leaves to insure good luck in gambling !

    Gallery

    The photos of the gallery were taken either with one of the following: Minolta DiMAGE 7, Canon PowerShot A530, Canon Xt Rebel, usually with the EF-S60mm f/2.8 Macro USM objective, Fujifilm A 610 and EPSON Perfection 1650 (scanner).

    The title in the window shows the date when the picture was taken, i.e. jan_30_06... would mean that the photo was taken on the 30th of January, the 06 is for the 6th picture taken that day. The month, day and picture number might be followed by a letter which I use to identify the system used to take the picture.

    Click on the thumbnails to get larger view. The original photos are usually in TIFF format, the photos shown are generally in JPEG format, often of dimensions one half (surface one quarter) for loading time reduction.

    Plants

    jun_06_16.mthmb cannot be loaded. jun_06_17.mthmb cannot be loaded. may_14_09.mthmb cannot be loaded.
    sep_04_03s.mthmb cannot be loaded. jun_16_01a.mthmb cannot be loaded.

    Twigs, buds

    avr_10_01c.mthmb cannot be loaded. avr_10_03c.mthmb cannot be loaded. apr_08_05c.mthmb cannot be loaded.

    Leaves, leaflets

    jun_06_01s.mthmb cannot be loaded. jun_06_02s.mthmb cannot be loaded. jun_06_03s.mthmb cannot be loaded.
    The leaf and folioles were scanned at 300 dpi, and the dimensions of the resulting picture divided by 2 (area divided by 4); this allows to measure the dimensions of the leaves.

    Flowers

    jun_22_01.mthmb cannot be loaded. jun_22_06.mthmb cannot be loaded. jun_22_02.mthmb cannot be loaded.

    Fruits, seeds

    avr_13_03.mthmb cannot be loaded. oct_12_14.mthmb cannot be loaded. avr_10_04c.mthmb cannot be loaded.

    Home

Toxicodendron radicans (L.) Kuntze

Remarque Les mots ou termes en rouge (en fait en orange foncé) sont définis dans un glossaire.


may_26_10.gthmb can't be loaded. Le Toxicodendron radicans est un arbuste dressé ou rampant, ou une plante grimpante. Il produite une résine, l'urushiol, un irritant de la peau qui est parfois la cause de rougeurs et graves démangeaisons; l'urushiol est un allergène présent dans la plupart des parties de la plante. Le Toxicodendron radicans est indigène de l'Amérique du Nord. C'est une mauvaise herbe au Minnesota, au Michigan, en Ontario, où il forme rapidement des colonies.

Le Toxicodendron radicans est un taxon très variable et il y a beaucoup de désaccord entre botanistes pour savoir si le Toxicodendron radicans est une seule espèce avec nombre de variations et variétés ou sous-espèces ou plusieurs espèces séparées. Nombre de botanistes reconnaissent 7 sous-espèces du Toxicodendron radicans, à savoir :

D'autres botanistes considèrent certaines des ces sous-espèces, comme la sous-espèce radicans par exemple, comme de simples variétés. D'autres, au Québec notamment considèrent l'espèce Toxicodendron rydbergii comme une variété du Toxicodendron radicans i.e. de nom Toxicodendron radicans var. rydbergii, ce qui semble illustrer que le genre Toxicodendron n'est pas encore assez bien compris, biologiquement, et que l'on devra attendre le résultat d'études complémentaires avant que les botanistes se mettent d'accord sur ce taxon.

Une chose cependant est certaine, le Toxicodendron radicans appartient à la famille des Anacardiaceae.

Nom

En Grec classique, un des sens du mot τοξιcοσ (toxicos) est poison à l'usage des flèches.

draw_e.jpg can't be loaded.

En Latin, le mot est devenu toxicum avec la même signification et le sens plus général de poison et laudanum (un extrait de l'opium utilisé d'abord pour ses propriétés médicinales) et le mot latin nous a donné le mot toxique et ses dérivés. En Grec classique, δενδρον (dendron) signifie arbre, et toutes les espèces appartenant au genre Toxicodendron sont des arbuste ou des petits arbres et sont toutes toxiques.

En Latin, le verbe radicare signifie s'enraciner, et radicans est son participe présent. L'épithète fait référence à ce que le Toxicodendron radicans s'enracine facilement.

Noms communs

Les noms vernaculaires du Toxicodendron radicans sont Herbe à la puce, Herbe à puce, Sumac grimpant, Toxicodendron grimpant. Son nom vernaculaire anglais est Poison Ivy (Lierre empoisonné).

Synonymes

Le Toxicodendron radicans a aussi été connu comme :

Identification

Il est des plus important d'être capable d'identifier rapidement et sans erreur le Toxicodendron radicans, tant dans sa forme grimpante que comme arbrisseau, car vous avez plus d'une chance sur deux (et c'est tout sauf avoir de la chance !) d'être allergique à l'urushiol; le Toxicodendron radicans est d'ailleurs simple à identifier; on le reconnaît par : Les marges des folioles n'ont pas de dents, ou sont festonnées, ou portent quelques dents irrégulières. Généralement, les marges externes des folioles latérales sont irrégulièrement dentées, et les marges internes n'ont pas de dent. Quant à la foliole du milieu, elle est généralement un peu plus grande que les folioles latérales.

On confond parfois le Parthenocissus quinquefolia (la Vigne vierge), une plante grimpante, avec le Toxicodendron radicans, mais le Parthenocissus quinquefolia a cinq folioles, attachées au même point, le Toxicodendron radicans n'en a que trois. draw_b.jpg can't be loaded. Toxicodendron radicans

Description

Tiges

Les tiges sont d'abord de couleur vert-rougeâtre léger, puis deviennent ligneuses, brunes et glabres (par contre les tiges des plantes grimpantes semblent parfois pubescentes). Les tiges peuvent traîner sur ou juste en dessous du sol, en émettant fréquemment des branches vers le haut. Elles peuvent aussi se dresser sous la forme d'un arbrisseau et atteindre jusqu'à 7 pieds de haut. Ou ce sont des tiges de plante grimpantes dont le diamètre peut atteindre 5 pouces, tiges qui s'acccrochent aux arbres, aux clôtures, par leur racines aériennes dense et fibreuses. Ces tiges sont toxiques.

Feuilles

Les chenilles de l'Amorbia humerosana, de la Marathyssa basalis et du Paectes oculatrix se nourrissent des feuilles en dépit de sa toxicité.

Fleurs

Les abeilles sont attirées par le nectar et le pollen des fleurs. Une plante peut en fait avoir des fleurs hermaphrodites, ou seulement des fleurs staminées, ou seulement des fleurs pistillées, ou à la fois des fleurs staminées et des fleurs pistillées.

Fruits

Habitat

On trouve le Toxicodendron radicans dans les bois ou en bordure des bois; on le trouve également dans les endroits rocheux, en terrains ouverts, dans des sites perturbés. Il est assez fréquent dans le sous-étage forestier même s'il n'est que peu tolérant de l'ombre. On le trouve aussi en bordure des lacs, des marais, sur les berges des cours d'eau. Mais ce n'est pas un indicateur d'humidité; il n'est pas non plus associé à des types particuliers, mais on ne le trouve ni en terrains arides ni dans les lieux désertiques. Il pousse par contre dans une variété de sols, à un pH allant de 6.0 (un peu acide) à 7.9 (modérément alcalin). Il croît également dans les endroits soumis à des inondations saisonnières ou recevant de l'eau saumâtre.

Répartition

map_na.jpg can't be loaded.

On trouve le Toxicodendron radicans dans la moitié orientale de l'Amérique du Nord, incluant quelques États américains à l'ouest du Mississippi, incluant plusieurs provinces canadiennes. C'est une plante très commune en Nouvelle-Angleterre, dans les États de la côte atlantique et du sud-est des États-Unis. On trouve également le Toxicodendron radicans en Russie extrême-orientale : Îles Kouriles et Sakhaline, au Japon, en Chine et à Taïwan. La plante a été introduite en Europe (par vengence ? de quoi ?) La carte montre les provinces canadiennes et États américains où l'on trouve le Toxicodendron radicans .

Notes

Le Toxicodendron radicans est la plus répandue des plantes d'Amérique du Nord produisant de l'urushiol. Un contact avec la plante se traduit par une réaction allergique chez 85 à 90 % des gens, même en petite quantité (1 nanogramme, i.e. 1 milliardième de gramme). Un quart d'once de cette huile suffirait à infecter tout le population de la terre.

Quelques faits :

La seule façon d'éviter d'être affecté par l'urushiol du Toxicodendron radicans est d'éviter d'être en contact avec la plante, tant directement qu'indirectement, en touchant des vêtements ou des outils ou des objets quelconques qui ont été en contact avec la plante.

En dedans de 15 minutes de contact avec la peau, l'urushiol y adhère et il y a risque de dermatite. Un bon lavage à l'eau froide et une moyen d'ôter l'urushiol. L'eau chaude ou tiède, en ouvrant les pores de la peau, faciliterait l'adhérence de l'urushiol, et l'utilisation de savon lui permettrait de s'étendre.

draw_h.jpg can't be loaded.

Les animaux ne sont généralement pas affectés par le Toxicodendron radicans. C'est d'ailleurs une source de nourriture importante pour l'Odocoileus virginianus (le Cerf de Virginie). Ursus americanus (l'Ours noir), et plusieurs espèces du genre Sylvilagus (Lapins à queue blanche notamment) se nourrissent des feuilles, des branches et de fruits. Nombre d'oiseaux consomment les fruits en automne et en hiver; les Pics (famille des Picidae) sont particulièrement attirés par les fruits.

Malgré sa toxicité, plusieurs tribus amérindiennes se servaient du Toxicodendron radicans. Les Houmas prenaient une décoction de feuilles comme tonique. On dit que les Algonquins du Québec se frottaient la peau affecté par le Toxicodendron radicans avec des feuilles de Toxicodendron radicans ! (pour aggraver le problème ?) Les Cherokees prenaient une décoction de la plante comme émétique. Les Kiowas se servaient de la plante pour soigner les plaies; ils frottaient les furoncles et les rougeurs de la peau avec des feuilles (empirant le problème ?) Quant aux Navajos ils se servaient de la plante sur leur flèches empoisonnées et machaient les feuilles afin d'avoir de la chance dans les jeux de hasard !

Galerie

Les photos de cette galerie ont été prises avec l'un des appareils suivants : Minolta DiMAGE 7, Canon PowerShot A530, Canon Xt Rebel, habituellement avec l'objectif EF-S60mm f/2.8 Macro USM, Fujifilm A 610 and EPSON Perfection 2200 (scanner).

Le titre dans la fenêtre est la date à laquelle la photo a été prise, i.e. jan_01_06... signifiera que la photo a été prise le premier janvier, et le 06 est pour la sixième photo prise ce jour. Le mois, jour et numéro peuvent être suffixés d'une lettre qui me sert à identifier le système avec lequel la photo a été prise.

Cliquer sur les vignettes pour obtenir une image agrandie. Les photos originales sont généralement en format TIFF, les photos affichées sont habituellement en format JPEG, généralement de dimensions réduites de moitié (surface réduite au quart) afin de réduire la durée du chargement.

Plantes

jun_06_16.mthmb cannot be loaded. jun_06_17.mthmb cannot be loaded. may_14_09.mthmb cannot be loaded.
sep_04_03s.mthmb cannot be loaded. jun_16_01a.mthmb cannot be loaded.

Rameaux, bourgeons

avr_10_01c.mthmb cannot be loaded. avr_10_03c.mthmb cannot be loaded. apr_08_05c.mthmb cannot be loaded.

Feuilles, folioles

jun_06_01s.mthmb cannot be loaded. jun_06_02s.mthmb cannot be loaded. jun_06_03s.mthmb cannot be loaded.
Les feuilles ont été scannées à 300 ppp et les dimensions de l'image résultante ont été divisées par 2 (surface divisée par 4), ce qui permet de mesurer les dimensions des feuilles.

Fleurs

jun_22_01.mthmb cannot be loaded. jun_22_06.mthmb cannot be loaded. jun_22_02.mthmb cannot be loaded.

Fruits, graines

avr_13_03.mthmb cannot be loaded. oct_12_14.mthmb cannot be loaded. avr_10_04c.mthmb cannot be loaded.

Accueil